Who hero imageWho hero image

The board of directors tasked with bringing this vision to life consists of individuals with distinguished and diverse backgrounds in the fields of academia, art, finance, fundraising, LGBTQ civil rights, philanthropy, public affairs, urban planning, and more.

Several team members played pivotal roles in establishing and growing the LGBT Community Center, the New York City AIDS Memorial, and the designation of the Stonewall Inn and Christopher Street Park as the U.S.’s first National Monument designated for an LGBTQ historic site. These leaders have decades of experience creating, running and fundraising for large nonprofit organizations.

Board of Trustees

Museum Staff

Board Alumni

Founders Council

Allen Gannett

Rachel Levi & Kate Monahan

Ted Snowdon & Duffy Violante

Jordan Roth & Richie Jackson

Anthony V. Thompson

Richard Mumby

Benj Pasek

David Stone & Michael Seelbach

Barney Karpfinger & Eric Marcus

We'd Like to Thank The Following Members of The New York City Council

Corey Johnson

Jimmy Van Bramer

Laurie Cumbo

Daniel Dromm

Rory Lancman

Mark Levine

Stephen Levin

Carlos Menchaca

Keith Powers

Ritchie Torres

Oswald Feliz

Institutional Support

The Fund for the City of New York logo
The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Community Center logo
The Marcus Foundation logo
Funders for LGBTQ Issues logo
Johnson Family Foundation logo
Lesbians for Good/Horizons Foundation logo
The New York Community Trust logo
Women's Foundation of California logo
Ford Foundation logo
Swann Galleries logo
Ms. Foundation for Women logo
New York Women's Foundation logo

Consulting Team

Amy Kaufman Cultural Planning
Institutional Planning

Susan Stryker, Ph.D.
Institutional Planning, Content Strategy

Community Marketing & Insights
National Survey

Joel Sanders
Joel Sanders

Landair, Inc.
Real Estate Strategy

Brilliant Idea Studio
Stakeholder Engagement

Stuart Lynn Company
Cost Estimation

Diana Duke Duncan

Pro Bono Counsel

William J. Hibsher
Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP

Maitry Halder
Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP

James P. Colgate
Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP

We'd like to thank Kevin Jennings for his inspiration!